THE PLAYLIST

The Playlist

I was not always this loveless nerd, that I am today. I too had a love story.

And, then few Love Passages too.You know, those Short Passages which never materialize into a full blown story. Yes those.

I was studying at MARS. No! Not that fourth rock from the Sun – Mars; but ‘Madhavpur Advanced Research School’ aka MARS. I was in the First year and Radhika’s father ShriRam was just learning about the proximity between her daughter and me.

And, Boy! Was he upset? He went crazy. Of all absurd reasons a girl’s conservative daddy would cook up, his were beyond those. He thought I was too gawky and thin. Ya, well go ahead. Question your own daughter’s choice and wisdom. Who am I to meddle in your family affairs?

He went crazy. Of all absurd reasons a girl’s conservative daddy would cook up, his were beyond those. He thought I was too gawky and thin. Ya, well go ahead. Question your own daughter’s choice and wisdom. Who am I to meddle in your family affairs?

Nonetheless, the college was crazy and apart from that bi-annual cultural fest, we rarely partied.

1st Semester – 1st October 2040 A.D.

I haven’t met Radhika for at least 6 months now. And this was when we were in the same City. Her father simply wouldn’t allow that. And I don’t blame her either. We both were in our First Years. And, the First year of your college is for making new friends. Getting to know new people. Basically to discover.

And with her ever vigilant and paranoid dad (Yes! ShriRam that’s you), I knew she wasn’t going anywhere either.

So, 1st October. I was rushing to the Open-Air Theatre situated right in front of the College Cafeteria when I bumped into somebody. My flute slipped from my hand and fell. What would have happened next? I picked up my flute, right?

Wrong.

I saw contour of a face shining in setting sun’s slant sunlight. Her tresses which were now touching her radiant cheeks (like Monsoon clouds touch the horizon), were glowing golden (drenched in sunlight). Her’s was the sweetest and most adorable face, I had seen in past 6 months.

I wish the awesomeness that she was, would have been limited to the face. But she was indeed awesomeness incarnated, from Head to Toe.

Tall, spirited, charming and above all dressed in a halter-top and shorts.

We were in an eye-lock, my heart was throbbing and my mind was racing.

“Would you be mine?” was all I wanted to ask.

And, “Are your Headsets ok?” was all I could ask.

She smiled. Though it was October, still suddenly it started feeling like Spring engulfing everything around.

“Hope so.” she picked her earphones up.

“What music do you listen to?” I asked, to which she so very softly placed her earphone with her playlist on, into my ears. I smiled and picked up my flute.

“Fest?” she asked.

“Yes. Be There.”

That night, I didn’t play what I was rehearsing for 2 weeks. I played her playlist.

Yes. She was there, 5th from the front row.

So, was Radhika. 9th from the front row. She sneaked out of her house and made it to the feast.

Interestingly enough, as soon as the Playlist Girl heard me playing her songs, she waved from the audience like anything.

I didn’t notice Radhika until I was done with my performance and was about to exit the stage. I was seeing her after exact six months. Her one glimpse made me forget that ‘bumping into’ incidence.

It was that evening when Radhika gifted me my Venu (the flute).

For Vallabha, that was our first and last interaction in college (She was my college-mate, so yes I did manage to get her Name).

Leave a Reply

